Title Transfers in Bothell, Washington

At Worthington Licensing in Bothell, Washington title transfers are quick and easy. After you have acquired a Washington titled vehicle by purchase, gift, or trade, you have 15 days to transfer the ownership into your name or face a penalty that can be $50 to $125. If you bought a vehicle from a Washington State dealer, they will take care of the transfer.
 
Additional materials may be needed for special cases. Generally, this is what is needed for title transfers:
  • Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale form completed by both the buyer and the seller.
  • If the vehicle is less than 10 years old, you will need an Odometer Disclosure Statement, which is located at the bottom of the title. If you don't have the title, Odometer Disclosure Statements are available at Worthington Licensing.
  • Current Emission test. See Emission Testing to decide whether you need an emission test before transferring ownership.
 

How quickly do you want your title?

Worthington Licensing is authorized to process Quick Titles if you need your title the same day as transferring ownership. For non-expedited title transfers, the Department of Licensing will mail the new title in approximately 6 – 8 weeks to the mailing address you provided when transferring.

Name Change

If you have changed your name, you must update your vehicle and boat records. Changing your name on one vehicle does not automatically change it for every vehicle in your name. If your title is held by a lien holder, the lien holder must surrender the title for the name change.
To change your name on your vehicle or vessel you will need:

License Plates

When a vehicle changes ownership, it gets new license plates and registration. Although, there are exceptions, license plates do not need to be replaced if:
  • You are removing a deceased spouse or domestic partner from the title.
  • The vehicle is being given to you by your spouse, domestic partner, immediate family member, as inheritance, or a trust in which the registered owner or their immediate family members are the beneficiaries of the trust.
At Worthington Licensing we are able to assign Special Design Plates. If you would like Personalized Plates you will need to fill out and submit the Special Background, Personalized, or HAM Operator License Plate Application with the required fees (contact Worthington Licensing for fees) to:
Department of Licensing
P.O. Box 9909
Olympia, WA 98507-8500

Report of Sale

If you sold, gifted, traded, donated, or if you disposed of your vehicle, you will need to file a Vehicle Report of Sale either online or at Worthington Licensing in Bothell, Washington, for a $8.75 fee. Filing a report of sale protects you if the buyer does not transfer the title of the vehicle into their name. Without the report of sale, you could be held liable for toll bills, towing charges, and other civil or criminal circumstances accrued by the new owner. You have five days from the date of sale to file a report of sale.